Dreams

You drive down a windy tree lined lane. To your left, cows, pigs, chickens, are soaking up the sweet afternoon sunlight. To your right, garden beds filled with delights to be discovered, and flowers in full bloom. You reach the end and are greeted by a large farmhouse and barn. A loveable puppy runs to your car to greet you, followed closely by me. You’re ushered inside, offered a glass of fresh lemonade and greeted like an old friend, “checking in” to your stay in my home. Over your stay you’ll be engrossed in my world – learning as much or as little as you want about working on a farm, and living sustainably. But at night, that’s when the real magic happens. You wander into the barn, its wooden beams and high ceilings impressive, but not intimidating. A single large chandelier hangs in the centre with one long wooden table below it. It smells sweet, like hay and fresh chopped wood, and a hint of freshly baked bread. You take a seat, sip your cocktail, and strike up a conversation with the smiling, friendly woman next to you. She’s travelled from the other side of the country just to be here. You know you’re in for something special.

What you’ve just read is a description of my dream. Of my “be-all-end-all, what I want to be when I grow up, dream. I’ve lived and worked all over Canada and around the world, but for me, that is the ultimate. My goal in life is to teach people through food. To provide the information our society is sorely lacking, and chooses to ignore. When I eventually own a restaurant of my own, I want to work directly with farmers and local suppliers to provide a superior, seasonal product, or even cut out the middle man and produce myself. Not only do I have a mission to make delicious, enjoyable food, I have a dream to make it sustainable, affordable, and deliver knowledge on the plate.

I am a chef. A creative. A dreamer. My life revolves around food and I approach every challenge with reckless abandon. At a young age, I have already accomplished what many in my field will not, but I will not stop there. I strive for excellence in everything I do, and look at every failure as a new opportunity for success. I have been called a workaholic, but I find myself lucky to be able to do exactly what I love every single day. I would love to work with you to continue that education and get me one step closer to my own personal dreams.

I believe in freshly baked bread, strong coffee, and big dreams.

Leave a Reply

