Seared Baby Octopus with Potatoes and Heirloom Tomatoes

QUINOA

I tried my first oyster at a market by the sea in Boston. I sucked it back and felt the salty flesh hit my tongue. I gagged. I wasn’t always such a foodie, you know. Growing up in New England, my parents created 3 little anomalies. We were kings of clam chowder, comparing the contents of our sourdough bread bowls from one roadside shop to the other. We were queens of the shrimp plate, expertly sucking down the sweet pink flesh leaving nothing but a pile of discarded shells.

I fell in love with baby octopus at an all you can eat buffet. My seven year old brain raced with the seemingly endless possibilities, looking at the buffet carts full of inviting and unknown foods. I grabbed one of everything, and found myself faced with a challenge. On my plate lay a fried baby octopus, something that was a far cry from the roast chicken and hamburger helper world I lived in. Encouraged by my family – and not having to be told twice – I dove my fork into the squishy fried octopus. As I popped it into my mouth, my family waited with baited breath. I chewed, swallowed, and went back for seconds.

Seared Baby Octopus with Potatoes and Heirloom Tomatoes

  • Servings: 2
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients

Salad
2 Potatoes, washed and diced
2 Rashers Bacon, Diced
2 Large Heirloom Tomatoes, sliced
1/2 Cup Heirloom Cherry Tomatoes
1 Cup Baby Spinach

Octopus
10 Baby Octopus, cleaned and heads removed
2 Cloves Garlic, minced
3 Tbsp Olive Oil
Salt and Pepper

Dressing
2 Cloves Garlic, minced
1 Anchovy, minced
1 Green Chili, minced
1/4 Cup Lemon Juice
1/3 Cup Olive Oil
Salt and Pepper

Method

  1. Make the dressing by combining all ingredients and seasoning to taste. Set aside.
  2. Combine all ingredients for the octopus and set aside for 10-15 minutes.
  3. Slice large tomatoes and arrange on the plate, slice and set aside cherry tomatoes.
  4. Cook potatoes in salted water until just soft. Fry diced bacon in a pan and then add potatoes to crisp.
  5. Toss cherry tomatoes, potatoes, and baby spinach in as much or as little dressing as you want.
  6. In a very hot pan, sear the baby octopus. Make sure to cook until the flesh has turned white, but be very careful because they are extremely easy to overcook. 5 mins, max!
  7. Arrange the salad and octopus on a plate however you like. Feel free to add any other seafood (like the scallop you see in the picture). This would also be good without the seafood, just as a potato salad.

xx B

2 thoughts on “Seared Baby Octopus with Potatoes and Heirloom Tomatoes

  1. Kelsey, Especially says:

    You are a braver woman than me, that’s for sure. I’m not a foodie in any sense of the word – in fact, I don’t really like food at all but that’s a different story for a different day (and not an “I have an eating disorder” euphemism, ps – so this is SO out there for me.

    It does, however, remind me of the time my 7th grade science teacher bit the head off a small octopus in class to demonstrate his coolness/craziness/unstableness/whatever. We already thought he was weird, but that solidified it for us. Ever since then, I associate eating octopus with a crazy science teacher. No bueno.

    This is such an interesting recipe, though. Definitely caught my eye. Even though I’ll never try it, I love that you posted it – so unique, in a really good way.

    Like

    • heyimbeckyblog says:

      Haha, I get it (the sentiment, not the actual concept) eat to live vs. live to eat.

      Woah, that is a bit extreme, although I also had a pretty crazy 7th grade science teacher who thought she was Ms. Frizzle from The Magic School Bus.. must be in the job description to be slightly unstable.

      I should have taken a video, when the little guys hit the hot pan they danced around tentacles waving, it was hilarious, although slightly off putting… thank you so much for your sweet comment!! I hope you have a great Monday! xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

